Boston Chamber Symphony Masterworks


June 9, 2024    
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

This concert will feature beloved, contrasting works for chamber orchestra that showcase the brilliant talent of the Boston Chamber Symphony (BCS) member-soloists.   

This season closer features masterworks that exhibit the range and technical mastery of the ensemble. Bartók’s Romanian Folk Dances includes seven mini-movements, with melodies inspired by Transylvanian folk tunes performed by solo violin, clarinet, and piccolo. Stravinsky’s Pulcinella was adapted from Stravinsky’s eponymous ballet, which was inspired by the traditional commedia dell’arte and featured original sets and costumes by Pablo Picasso. Anchoring the June concert is Mozart’s Symphony No. 40. Dubbed the “Great G Minor Symphony,” and one of only two symphonies Mozart wrote in a minor key, this evocative work is one of his most admired compositions for its emotional range and dramatic intensity. Music Director Avlana Eisenberg will conduct, with a reception to follow.   

Tickets: $35 general admission, $30 seniors, $20 students.

Order online and save $5 on each ticket